Photo supplied, BYU Photo

BYU senior runner and Layton native Courtney Wayment celebrates as she crosses the finish line to win the NCAA women’s three,000-meter steeplechase national championship Saturday, June 11, 2022, at the University of Oregon’s Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore.

Former Davis Higher athlete Courtney Wayment represented Northern Utah at the Governor’s State of Sport Awards for 2022, presented by the Utah Sports Commission on Thursday evening at Vivint Arena in Salt Lake City.

Wayment was named the state’s collegiate female athlete of the year for winning the person national championship in the three,000-meter steeplechase when operating for BYU at the NCAA track and field championships.

Wayment ran a 9:16.00, setting a new women’s collegiate record.

The Utah Sports Commission was made to retain Utah’s Olympic legacy and to assist boost Utah’s economy, image, and high-quality of life via the attraction, promotion, and improvement of national and international sports.

Other winners awarded Thursday evening are listed beneath.

Legacy Award: Al Mansell (former state senator), Robert Garff (founding member of Utah Sports Commission, chair of 2002 Olympic organizing committee)

State of Sport Award: Natalie Williams (women’s basketball star, Utah native, Olympic gold medalist), Apolo Ohno (speedskater who starred in 2002 Olympics)

Higher College Female Athlete of the Year: Teya Sidberry (Judge Memorial basketball player who became the state’s all-time scoring leader)

Higher College Male Athlete of the Year: Jackson Brousseau (4-time state champion across 3 sports at Lehi Higher College)

Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year: Courtney Wayment

Collegiate Male Athlete of the Year: Clark Phillips III (Utah football defensive back, anticipated higher NFL draft choose this summer time)

Group of the Year: University of Utah women’s ski group (won third consecutive national championship)

Coach of the Year: Kyle Whittingham (University of Utah football)

Lewis Feild Memorial Award (rodeo): Scott Anderson (longtime Utah rodeo advocate and leader)

Expert Female Athlete of the Year: Gina Magana (Utah Falconz women’s football)

Expert Male Athlete of the Year: Tony Finau (skilled golfer)

Adaptive Athlete of the Year: Matthew Brewer (U.S. Paralympic alpine skiing)

Olympic Group of the Year: Aerials gold medalists

Highlight of the Year: UFC “The Kick Heard ‘Round the World” (Leon Edwards knockout kick at Salt Lake City UFC occasion)

Occasion of the Year: IRONMAN Planet Championship (St. George hosts initial IRONMAN Planet Championship outdoors Hawaii)


Join thousands currently getting our each day newsletter.

By Editor

Leave a Reply