Which countries acknowledge the state of Palestine?

Spain Poised to Recognize Palestine as a State: Prime Minister Expresses Support

Spain is considering recognizing Palestine as a state, with the Spanish Prime Minister expressing a desire to make the move by summer. This comes after 137 out of 193 UN states have recognized Palestine, but countries in Western Europe, North America, Australia, Japan, and South Korea have not. The Palestinian state was first declared in 1988 by Yasser Arafat with support from countries such as China, India, Turkey, and Arab nations. Over time, more countries in Africa, the Soviet bloc, Central America, and Latin America recognized Palestine. In 2012, the Palestinians gained observer state status at the UN.

Sweden was the first EU country to recognize Palestine in 2014. This move created tensions with Israel and led to stormy relations. Other European countries are considering following Sweden’s lead. In 2021, Spanish and other European leaders expressed readiness to recognize Palestine under the right circumstances. Alongside diplomatic efforts, the Palestinians have gained membership in organizations like UNESCO and the International Criminal Court. These developments have been met with criticism from the US and Israel. Despite challenges

Leave a Reply

Proper Techniques for Cleaning Cell Phone and Computer Screens Previous post The Importance of Cleaning Your Phone for Hygiene and Longevity
This pet business owner is happy she downsized Next post Surviving and Thriving: The Inspirational Story of Judy Nunez and Tails on Trails in the Face of Pandemic Challenges