The Planet Photography Organisation on Friday announced the winners of the prestigious Sony Planet Photography Awards 2023 at a ceremony held in London, which was hosted by broadcaster and art historian Kate Bryan.

At the ceremony, the coveted ‘Photographer of the Year’ title was awarded to acclaimed photographer Edgar Martins from Portugal for his series, Our War. The series of photographs pays homage to Martins’ pal, photojournalist Anton Hammerl, who was killed through the Libyan Civil War in 2011. He received a $25,000 money prize and a variety of Sony digital imaging gear.

As per the press release, he also received a solo presentation of his function as aspect of subsequent year’s Sony Planet Photography Awards exhibition. “This chance permits photographers to additional create their winning project or exhibit a brand new physique of function, gaining them extra exposure for their practice,” it stated.

See additional

“It is a enormous honour to be recognised and despite the fact that I am philosophical about awards and the subjective nature of someone’s selection, being aware of that there have been more than 180,000 entries to this year’s Expert competitors, is pretty humbling. In this case, it is also rather an emotional knowledge simply because I get to honour my pal on a globe stage and bring focus to the family’s plight to locate his remains. There’s no award that has the attain of the Sony Planet Photography Awards,” Martins stated on his victory.

Martins was chosen as the ideal photographer from the ten category winners of the specialist competitors who have been announced alongside these in 2nd and 3rd location in each and every category. The all round winners of the Awards’ Open, Youth, and Student competitions have been also announced, the press release stated.

Alessandro Cinque from Italy was announced as the initially-time winner of the Sustainability Prize – an award which recognises the stories, individuals and organisations whose actions highlight one particular of the United Nations’ environmental Sustainable Improvement Targets.

Other winners across distinctive categories are:

Architecture and Style: Fan Li (China Mainland) for his series Cement Factory

Inventive: Lee-Ann Olwage (South Africa) for her series The Proper to Play

Documentary Projects: Hugh Kinsella Cunningham (United Kingdom) for his series The Women’s Peace Movement in Congo

Atmosphere: Marisol Mendez (Bolivia) &amp Federico Kaplan (Argentina) for their series Miruku

Landscape: Kacper Kowalski (Poland) for his series Occasion Horizon

Portfolio: James Deavin (United Kingdom) for his submission Portfolio

Portraiture: Edgar Martins (Portugal) for his series Our War

Sport: Al Bello (United States) for his series Female Pro Baseball Player Succeeds in All-Male Pro League

Nevertheless life: Kechun Zhang (China Mainland) for his series The Sky Garden

Wildlife and nature: Corey Arnold (United States) for his series Cities Gone Wild

The open competitors, which celebrates the energy of a single image, recognised Dinorah Graue Obscura from Mexico as the Open Photographer of the Year 2023. On top of that, Lengthy Jing and Hai Wang from China have been awarded the titles of ‘Student Photographer of the Year’ and ‘Youth Photographer of the Year’, respectively.

Lastly, celebrated photographer Rinko Kawauchi, who is touted as one particular of the most essential Japanese photographers operating now, was awarded the ‘Outstanding Contribution to Photography’ honour.

📣 For additional way of life news, adhere to us on Instagram | Twitter | Facebook and do not miss out on the most recent updates!

© IE On-line Media Solutions Pvt Ltd

1st published on: 15-04-2023 at 13:15 IST

By Editor

Leave a Reply