Four Academy Members Elected as Fellows of the Royal Society

Four Australian Scientists Join the Royal Society: Celebrating Achievements in Computer Vision, Ubiquitylation, Materials Chemistry and Fluid Mechanics

This year, four Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science have been elected to the esteemed Royal Society. Among them are Professor Richard Hartley, Professor David Komander, Professor Douglas MacFarlane, and Professor Ivan Marusic. These remarkable scientists have made significant advancements in their respective fields and are now being recognized for their invaluable contributions to science.

Professor Richard Hartley from the Australian National University has been honored for his work in computer vision and image understanding. Similarly, Professor David Komander from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research has been acknowledged for his leadership in the field of ubiquitylation. Professor Douglas MacFarlane from Monash University has also earned recognition for his extensive contributions to materials chemistry. Lastly, Professor Ivan Marusic from the University of Melbourne has been recognized as an international leader in the field of fluid mechanics.

The new Fellows elected to the Royal Society come from a wide range of fields such as biochemistry and artificial intelligence, and hail from countries all over the world including Brazil, China, Japan, Mexico, and Singapore. Founded in 1660, the Royal Society is one of the oldest scientific academies in continuous existence and is home to many of the world’s most eminent scientists.

Leave a Reply

McDonald’s Introduces The Meal for Mental Health Awareness in Place of Happy Meal Previous post From Happy Meals to Mental Health Advocacy: How Companies and Communities are Tackling Mental Health Challenges
The making of Travis Hunter’s EA Sports College Football 25 cover shoot Next post Exclusive Scoop: College Football 25 Cover Revealed with Travis Hunter and NIL Agreements for Athletes